DUI Penalties In Arizona

Arizona law is tough on DUI offenders. If you are convicted, you face penalties that will change your life. As soon as you are arrested, get in touch with a criminal defense attorney who can mount the most aggressive defense possible on your behalf.

If you are a non-U.S. citizen charged with felony DUI, you could face the possibility of deportation. It is important that you get legal help from an attorney who practices not only DUI defense, but also immigration law.

Initial consultation: I am DUI defense attorney Sebastian Sanchez. From my office in Yuma, Arizona, I defend first-, second- and third-time DUI offenders. Please complete this online contact form or call 928-597-0939 to schedule your consultation.

Se habla español.

Standard DUI Penalties In Arizona

Individuals found to be operating a motor vehicle with a BAC level of .08 or more may be charged with DUI. Penalties may include:

  • First DUI:
    • Up to 10 days in jail
    • Fines of up to $1,250 (and possibly more)
    • Community restitution
    • Alcohol and drug screening
  • Second DUI (within 84 months of first):
    • Up to 90 days in jail
    • Fines of up to $3,000 (and possibly more)
    • 30 hours community restitution
    • License suspension for 1 year

Extreme DUI Penalties In Arizona

Individuals found to be operating a motor vehicle with a BAC level of .15 or higher may be charged with extreme DUI. Penalties may include:

  • First extreme DUI:
    • 30+ days in jail
    • Fines of up to $2,500 (and possibly more)
    • Community restitution
    • Installation of ignition interlock device in car
  • Second extreme DUI:
    • 120+ days in jail
    • Fines of up to $3,250 (and likely more)
    • 30 hours of community restitution
    • License suspension for 1 year

Aggravated DUI Penalties In Arizona

An individual may be charged with aggravated DUI if:

  • He or she has been convicted of DUI 2 times within the past 84 months
  • He or she commits a violation during a period of license suspension
  • He or she commits a violation while a child age 15 or younger is in the car

Penalties for aggravated DUI may include:

  • Up to 3.75 years in prison for a Class 4 felony
  • Up to 2 years in prison for a Class 6 felony
  • License suspension for 3 years
  • Mandatory drug screening, education or treatment
  • Community restitution
  • Installation of ignition interlock device in car

As you can see, DUI charges are complex and can be very serious. Before you plead guilty, before you decide you can "do this on your own," talk to a criminal defense attorney about your options.